Article
CO:CREATE vs Apprentice: Tattoo Booking Apps Compared
Your books. Your rates. Your cut. How CO:CREATE and Apprentice compare.
Prices checked October 2026
CO:CREATE vs Apprentice: the short version
Both apps are free for Artists to start, and on both the Client pays the booking fee by default. CO:CREATE charges Clients a $10 booking fee plus 3% card processing, with no commission on your work, and includes public Artist discovery. Apprentice charges Clients a 2% platform fee plus card processing, and has strong design tools. Each has real strengths, covered below.
No commission
Artists keep their full rate. CO:CREATE is free for Artists.
You get found
Clients can search for Artists by location and style.
Built with, by and for Artists
Working tattoo Artists are on our team, and every decision is made with and for Artists.
Pricing, side by side
Prices checked October 2026, from each company's own website.
CO:CREATE
$0 for Artists
No commission, no subscription.
Clients pay $10 once per Booking Request, plus 3% card processing on every payment.
Public Artist discovery.
Pay over time with Klarna, Afterpay or Affirm.
Apprentice
$0 or $24.99/mo
Free for up to 50 Clients. Pro is unlimited.
Clients pay 2.9% + $0.30 card processing, plus a 2% platform fee. Artists can choose to absorb it.
AI design tools.
We aren't the lowest on every payment
On a $200 deposit, a Client pays about $16 with CO:CREATE and about $10 with Apprentice. On a $1,500 tattoo paid in one payment, it flips: about $55 with us and about $74 with Apprentice. Our $10 is charged once per Booking Request, while Apprentice's 2% is charged on every payment.
Where CO:CREATE stands out
Public Artist discovery. Clients search by location and style. Apprentice does not describe a public directory on its website.
Lower Client fees on bigger payments. Our $10 is charged once per Booking Request, not on every payment.
A team of working tattoo Artists. Every decision, from product to marketing to support, is made with and for Artists.
Feature comparison
Based on each company's own website, checked October 2026.
CO:CREATE | Apprentice | |
|---|---|---|
Cost to Artist | $0. No commission. | $0 for up to 50 Clients, or $24.99/mo for Pro |
Client fee | $10 once per Booking Request, plus 3% card processing on every payment | 2.9% + $0.30 card processing, plus a 2% platform fee |
Artist can cover or split the fee | Coming soon | Yes (Artist can absorb it) |
Pay over time | Klarna, Afterpay or Affirm. You are paid in full upfront. | Yes (Affirm, Afterpay and others) |
Payouts | 1 to 3 business days via Stripe | Not stated |
Public Artist discovery | Yes. Clients search by location and style. | Not described |
AI design tools | Not offered | Yes. AI design generation, stencil cleanup and placement preview. |
| CO:CREATE | Apprentice | |
|---|---|---|
| Artist cost | $0 | $0 or $24.99/mo |
| Client fee | $10 + 3% | 2% + card fees |
| Cover the fee | Coming soon | Yes |
| Payouts | 1 to 3 days | Not stated |
| Discovery | Yes | Not described |
| AI design | Not offered | Yes |
Where Apprentice fits better
Design tools. Apprentice offers AI design generation, stencil cleanup and a body placement preview, plus a design review workspace for Clients.
A lower fee on small payments. On a $200 deposit, a Client pays about $10 with Apprentice, compared with about $16 with CO:CREATE.
Cover the fee today. Apprentice lets Artists absorb the fee. That option is coming soon to CO:CREATE.
Common questions
Does CO:CREATE take a commission?
No. Artists keep their full rate. CO:CREATE is free for Artists.
Who pays the fee on CO:CREATE?
Clients pay a $10 booking fee per Booking Request plus 3% card processing. Letting Artists cover or split the fee is coming soon.
Is Apprentice really free?
Apprentice has a free plan for up to 50 Clients, and Pro is $24.99/mo. Clients pay card processing (2.9% + $0.30) plus a 2% platform fee by default, and Artists can choose to absorb it.
Which is cheaper for Clients, CO:CREATE or Apprentice?
It depends on the payment size. On a $200 deposit it is about $16 with CO:CREATE and about $10 with Apprentice. On a $1,500 tattoo paid in one payment it is about $55 with CO:CREATE and about $74 with Apprentice.
What's the best booking app for a solo tattoo Artist?
It depends on what you value. Choose CO:CREATE for no commission and Artist discovery, and Apprentice for AI design tools.










